The Nitty Gritty of Knitty Ditty Bags

dit′ty bag`n. a small bag used esp. by sailors to hold sewing implements, toiletries, etc. [1855–60; of obscure orig.]

Random House Kernerman Webster’s College Dictionary. (2010). Retrieved March 27 2015 from http://www.thefreedictionary.com/ditty+bag

Every knitter has items that are always tossed in their knitty ditty bags.  These are some of the ones that I cannot do without.

Scissors and other implements of destruction (or things that can poke you)

I can never have enough folding scissors. Mainly because I lose them to scissor gremlins every time I put them down.
My favorites are Slip-N-Snips. These are heavy-duty scissors that fold into themselves.  Their blades are surgical stainless steel, precision machined, heat-treated and hand assembled in the USA.  There are other companies that make a similar item but I’ve never found them to hold up as well.

A darning needle is a useful tool to keep on hand – either to hide your ends or help fix minor issues on the go.

Measuring & Gauge tools:

Every LYS has a tape measure for sale, it comes in handy to check project length and to check gauge.
I also keep gauge stickers in my bag.  I understand the importance of gauge, but I’m still coming around to liking it.  These make it easy for me and who doesn’t love stickers?

Another useful tool is a Knit check – it has a window to check your stitch and row gauge.  I primarily use this tool for the needle and hook size checker.

Row counters are another favorite in my ditty bags – I’m not locked into one style over the other but this post does a great job of breaking them down.

I NEVER leave home without…

A calculator –it is an incredibly helpful tool when all the row and numbers swirl together.

Hand renewal – I love love love this massage bar from Lush.  It not only renews my skin but also relieves any soreness in my hands.  Bonus points for smelling amazing without bothering your neighboring knitter’s allergies.

Chocolate or a mint. If you are going to a knitting circle, pack enough to share. 🙂

And my Number One  Favorite Tool is my Needle Keeper.  I do most of my knitting on circular needles – even my flat work.  As my grandmother would say, “never in my whole life” have I seen something as easy as Magic Wand  – I even posted a review on Amazon. I was given a Needle Keeper as a holiday present from a friend in my knitting circle. This is the BEST product I have found for protecting my work on circulars. The Needle Keeper has made it so easy to try on my magic loop socks without worry.

It also does the double duty of protecting my fingertips from getting poked as I pull my projects out of the bag. I loved my first one so much that I bought a second needle keeper for another project. When I start a project with US 10 needles, I’ll be able to put one at either end. If you knit with circulars, you should try this new item out!

What is in your knitty ditty bag?

DISCLOSURE: I do not receive monetary compensation or other types of remuneration for my endorsement, recommendation, testimonial and/or link to any products or services from this blog. I will only recommend products that I use, love, or covet. The end.

Leave a Reply

